My daughter started her first day of school on Tuesday. The exciting part was that it was her first time in a ‘real’ school (as my husband puts it). We learned about this school from a friend who moved from Houston. She started sending her children to this Islamic school and was very impressed by their academic standard (which is rare, unfortunately). It is an ‘honors study’ program and the students are tested before they are admitted in the school.

The school is quite far from our place, so Reem ends up spending almost 2.5 hours everyday in just the car ride! So we will see how long will this last! 🙂

It is too early for me to say anything about our decision of sending her to a ‘real’ school.  At this point, I cannot compare homeschool vs. Islamic school. But, inshaAllah, in a couple of months I will have my thoughts on this.  I am, however, experiencing to interact with a diverse group of Muslims i.e. parents and teachers at the school.

The campus is exceptionally beautiful. It used to be someone’s house before. It was funny when the school teacher told me that it was a family of only four members but they had 12 staff members! The drive to the school is also scenic, but it is another story that both of my kids get car sick once we start driving around the mountains. Abdullah throws up and so he hates going to “aapi’s” school!

I had never realized how stressful is ‘school shopping’. I thought it would be fun, but it ended up being a headache. I started shopping just a day before school started (my mistake but what can I do, it was my first time!). I went to 5 different stores before I finally found the composition books! It took me 4 days to finalize school shopping. Reem’s school has a unique uniform that only one store carries which is, without exaggeration, an hour 45 minutes from my house.  And I had to make two trips to the shop because I got the wrong size! So, in totoal, I ended up spending almost 8 hours driving everyday last week. My little one thinks that we have moved in the car and her car seat is her new room!

Hopefully, next week will be easier inshaAllah.

