“Lost Tomb of Jesus Found…”! It’s inevitable not to read about it. Internet is flooded with it. Even when I was logging on to my blog, it kept showing me as the ‘top news’!

It always interests me when old/historical remains are found. I remember as a child going to ‘Moin Jo Daro‘ in Pakistan. I was too young when I went (under 10), so I don’t recall much besides, I was more interested in playing around then observing and learning. Now if I get a chance to go back, I would definitely view that place differently, especially pondering over the ayah:

Do they not travel through the earth and see what was the End of those before them? They were even superior to them in strength, and in the traces (they have left) in the land: but Allah did call them to account for their sins, and none had they to defend them against Allah.” (40:21)

“Say: “Travel through the earth and see what was the end of those who rejected Truth.” (6:11)

(40:82), (3:137) and many more.

It is thought-provoking, how Allah (swt) repeated this verse many times in the Qur’an, asking us to travel around the world and ponder over these miracles of Allah (swt). So it only stenghtens our faith when we hear about these civilizations burried under earth and when discovered, we find them to be ‘idol-worshippers’!

Many Prophets were sent to Jerusalem and I am sure many tombs/graves must have been discovered in the lands of Palestine. Of course, it is a Holy land and a historical place and I am sure there is much more to be discovered there. After all the whole town of Sodom lays under there somewhere around the Dead Sea. (Allah knows best)

In any case, going back to ‘Jesus’ Tomb Found‘, I read a few articles on that. It is interesting but to say the least, another effort of Hollywood to make money or perhpas, Da Vinci Code part II?! Then again, Jews don’t believe in Eesa/Jesus (peace be upon him) either and they are still waiting for him to be born, as one of my Jew classmates told me in high school. So it could be their contribution too! (Oops, am I going to get in ‘trouble’ for saying this! 🙂 )

As Muslims, we don’t have to worry about this. It could cause confusion for some Christians because of their belief in crucification. However, and Alhamdullilah for Islam and Its precieness and perfection, we know beyond a shadow of doubt that Jesus (peace be upon him) was raised without being dead first and will be returned, inshaAllah. So they can find a million graves and tombs, it will not shake our belief, inshaAllah!

